top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJake

Christy's First Swarm

On, March 18th 2019, Christy and I ventured to the apiary at Gary's house located in Pattison, TX to attend to the bees. While we were in the bee yard we notice a loud, unusual buzzing sound characteristic of a swarm of honey bees. Then out of nowhere the bees clustered up along the barbed wire fencing displaying themselves in an enormous bearded fashion.


Once we quickly gathered a deep hive body, bottom board and lid we positioned it underneath them as best as possible to make an attempt to dump them in there. Please check out our Facebook page for the slow motion video of this capture! When I shook the bees into

the box one bounced on Christy's leg and stung her pretty good '_' She was not a huge fan of the sting, it was red for several days... and fairly swollen...


For 30 minutes the bees marched into their new home! The swarm was very massive and it was apparent the bees could not comfortably fit into one deep hive body. So, we added another super box on top of the hive body which had a few frames of drawn out comb in it to entice them to stay.


The following day I drove back to the apiary to finish some work, when as soon as I drove up I heard another loud buzzing sound, like bees swarming. This is when I noticed the box we had filled with bees from yesterday's swarm was again swarming. Bees continued to boil out of the entrance frantically trying to follow what must have only been a very fertile queen, until there was no activity at all and the box was completely empty. I had perfect timing to see the magical cloud of bees swirl with life above me and dampen the sunlight on a bright sunny day. After a few minutes of astonishment the bees flew over the fence and disappeared into the distant until I could no longer see them. I did not follow the swarm because they flew onto property which I did not have permission to be on. So, as I stand stranded, on my side of the fence I think to myself "Farewelll my friends, Bon Voyage!"


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page